Nationwide Columbus Marathon

Columbus Nationwide Marathon

Columbus, Ohio – October 2011

After the Flying Pig, I took a month off and then started up training for number 2! Most of this training was during the summer – at least there were no layers like in the winter months. Most of my training was done early in the morning or in the evening to beat the heat. When I signed up for the Nationwide Marathon, about a month after the Flying Pig, our family had just learned that my mom’s liver was failing and her body could no longer sustain chemotherapy. This race was dedicated to my mom because if she could fight for 12 years with cancer and now accept death, I could do another 26.2 miles. Running allowed me to clear my head, to deal with the pain I was experiencing trying to learn how to say goodbye, and it allowed me to feel free.

In Honor of My Mom

Unfortunately, she was only able to see one of my marathons. She passed away one month before I ran the Columbus marathon. Then, even more than when I started I was running it for her. Our whole family got shirts made in her honor. (picture). I made a playlist with all of our songs on it and her face, cheering me on, was the only image I had that entire race.

Day of the Race:

Steve and I ran the first half together – what a change to have a partner with you!

Steve and I – ready to get started!

Once he finished, I had another half to go! As I rounded the corner of the 26th mile, my sister and past college roommate, Carissa, jumped out from the crowd, grabbed my hands, and sprinted the last 0.2 miles with me to the finish.

Sprint to the Finish (had to make sure I wasn’t going to fall during the last 0.2)

I completed the marathon 37 minutes faster than my first and

every step of the way was in honor of my mom.

Kate and I

2011 Achieve – Finisher

2 thoughts on “Nationwide Columbus Marathon

  1. Pingback: {Marathon Monday} « Wholesome Living

Leave a comment