Prayers for a Cure

My heart is literally breaking. Throughout my life, I feel like I have watched people around me from acquaintances to my own mom, have their lives uprooted by cancer. To watch family’s hearts be torn from the loss of a loved one because of this disease feels unjust – and maybe that’s because it is. It starts a fire deep inside my soul asking “why?” – not just “why my mom” or “why her dad”, but why is cancer so prevalent and why isn’t there a cure? Then it extends into this long chain of thought – what can I do? How can I do it? How can I save a life or a family from experiencing the same pain that I have had or have seen in others? I don’t know any of these answers. And maybe there is no answer to some of them.

I continue to ask these questions because I know I have a “heroic” complex – I tend to always feel the need to be the hero, to make sure that everyone is okay – no one gets hurt, and everyone is protected. Well, I think we all know that that is a hard role to live up to. The fact that it cannot be accomplished hurts even more. So if I can’t save them, what can I do? What can WE do? Reach out. You may only be one voice, but one voice in a group only makes the message stronger – whether it is reaching out to a family, someone experiencing the illness, or taking part in a fundraiser supporting the cause – every single action is one that can impact a life.

My hope and prayers to God today are to bless all of those who are suffering from cancer, all of the families who are experiencing loss, and to bless those who are researching for a cure each day. May we find a cure, save a life, and love and honor those we have lost.

Image

Leave a comment