{Wedding}: Engagement Photos

The days have been flying by these past few weeks. I haven’t spent a ton of time on the computer lately, which is why it has been a bit silent on the blog lately. Any semi-“free” time or “me” time has been spent in meditation and continuing to work on finding inner serenity. The time off from writing has also given me so much more to write about that I’m feeling behind! I’ve got a lot of wedding updates, recipes, and workouts to share, plus some travel posts too!

I’ve got wedding on the brain so that’s where we are headed. Last weekend Steve and I got our engagement pictures taken. I am not one to flaunt myself in front of the camera nor be the center of attention so I was nervous what my comfort level would be like. These are pictures that I will have the rest of my life and I want them to speak just as loudly as my heart does.

Luckily, I had my sister Kate down for the weekend to be my stylist and make-up artist for the day. If it were me doing my hair, make-up, and debating over clothes, the stress levels would have sky-rocketed and I am sure I would have had a mini freak-out at some point. But the day was so smooth! Honestly, it was a chance to just spend time with my sister and appreciate every thing that she does and they beauty of her work and what makes her passionate. I feel so grateful to have had that and to have gone into pictures feeling beautiful.

Image

Image

We picked three spots to get our photos taken:

  • Field by our apartment (with Flynn!)
  • At OSU, by the river we ran at in college
  • At our dorm freshman year (where we met)

We chose Emily Millay Photography to take our engagement pictures. After researching our options, we went with what we felt was closest to our style – a photographer that captured natural moments and pure emotion without staging. I wanted our photograph to capture physically, everything that we feel emotionally. Emily and Kelly did just that!

The experience was amazing! It was a memory that we will never forget and I think that it’s because we just let loose and had fun. I don’t think we have ever taken the time to just stare into the other persons eyes and to be completely and totally engulfed all of the love we share for hours on end. I couldn’t stop smiling or – really actually laughing. The whole experience makes everything feel like it’s coming together and brings out so much excitement for the future.

Here are some of our sneak previews!

Image

Image

Image

 

ImageImage

ImageWe got the chance to view all of our proofs on Sunday – they are amazing and we had the greatest photographers! Now we’re planning out the use for our engagement photos and save the dates! We have so many ideas flying around for uses…

  • Save the Dates
  • Guest Notes at the Wedding
  • Family Gifts
  • Wedding Website
  • Frames

Here are a few tips I’ve learned throughout the engagement photo process:

  • Choose a location that has meaning
  • Use props that are part of your life (blanket, Flynn)
  • Don’t be afraid to loosen up and show your personality
  • Pick a photographer that encompasses your style
  • Don’t be afraid to tell your photographer what you like & dislike
  • Be open with your photographer on what you want captured
  • Be open to help the day of photos (my sis!)
  • Enjoy the process – it is a once in a lifetime memory!

What have you used engagement photos for?

 

2 thoughts on “{Wedding}: Engagement Photos

  1. You are on an amazing journey. I love the pictures. I am glad that you are taking care of yourself. Love everyone and yourself and your life will always be living in the present moment.

Leave a comment